Local Pension Board

As a result of changes to the governance arrangements in relation to pension schemes within the public sector, Dundee City Council as an administering authority for the Local Government Pension Scheme (LGPS), is required to have in place a local Pension Board.

The role of the Pension Board is to assist the Tayside Pension Fund in complying with all of the legislative requirements and making sure that the scheme is being efficiently & effectively governed and managed.

The board members work in conjunction with Dundee City Council in its role as the administering authority and with officers of the Tayside Pension Fund to ensure that your pension scheme is being run properly and that you, as a scheme member, get the best service.

To comply with requirements imposed by the Regulations of the LGPS which are enforced by the Pensions Regulator, board members are required to maintain their knowledge and understanding of the LGPS and pensions, in general.

The local Pension Board must have an equal number of scheme member and scheme employer representatives and board members are appointed for a term of 5 years.

The current membership is:

Scheme Employer Representatives

Mr Kenny Dick, Social Care & Social Work Improvement Scotland
Councillor Bob Brawn, Perth and Kinross Council
Councillor Braden Davy, Angus Council
Mr Gordon Murray, Carnoustie Golf Links

Substitute Representatives

Vacant, Angus Council
Vacant, Social Care & Social Work Improvement Scotland

Scheme Member Representatives

Mr George Ramsay, UNITE (UCATT - Chair)
Mr Arthur Nicoll, UNISON
Ms Claire Shepherd, UNITE
Ms Helen Meldrum, GMB Scotland

Substitute Representative

Ms Margaret McGuire, UNISON
Vacant, GMB Scotland


Minutes of meetings from the Pension Sub-committee And Pension Board can be found at the link below:
Pension Sub-committee And Pension Board Minutes



Helpful information